.

Do You Agree with Supreme Court on Healthcare Reform?

In a complicated decision, the justices upheld most of the health care reform legislation popularly known as Obamacare.

 

Do you agree with the U.S. Supreme Court's decision Thursday upholding most of President Obama's signature health care reform legislation?

By a 5-4 vote, the justices upheld most of the act, although the opinion is a complicated one. The court upheld the requirement that every American purchase health insurance or else pay a penalty, as a tax decision and upheld it on those grounds, in an opinion written by Chief Justice Roberts.

"Our precedent demonstrates that Congress has the power to impose the exaction in Section 5000 under the taxing power, and that Section 5000 need not be read to do more than impose a tax," Roberts wrote in one of the key sentences from the opinion.

Click here to read the full text of the opinion.

Vote in our poll and add your thoughts in the comments section, below.

Mark M July 04, 2012 at 12:07 AM
http://www.nypost.com/p/news/opinion/opedcolumnists/obamacare_now_bigger_mess_ZQXHK0gILBo5NZ9NpCIPnN
Berkeley Lifer July 04, 2012 at 12:30 AM
American sickcare is sick for a number of reasons. One is that it is highly profitable to manage chronic lifestyle diseases such as heart disease and diabetes, while it is essentially profitless to encourage healthy lifestyles based on diet, fitness and positive mental health practices. As a result, sickcare has zero interest (other than lip-service) in fostering (or emphasizing) prevention or in providing an integrated system of health which starts with what we do and eat every day.
Diogenes July 04, 2012 at 01:01 AM
No, not vehicles. I think it was broccoli that Reverend Scalia told us we would be forced to eat. But I LIKE broccoli. What's next? Mortgage insurance if you take out a mortgage? Auto insurance if you want to drive? Taxes if you want police and fire protection? What's this country coming to??
bob onya July 04, 2012 at 01:01 AM
better yet mark why dont you write down the items from the bill you think are going to destroy the country . bob english named the precise things. all you spew is chicken little the sky is falling. show us where it says in print anything you,ve claimed so far instead of hollow rhetoric and regurgitated fox talking points and wow links from the rupert murdoch owned ny post. and berkeley lifer you are out in only 3 months this time? must have been good behavior. how are those bologna sandwiches at the county? .
Diogenes July 04, 2012 at 01:05 AM
Republicans would never do that. They are against federal mandates, unless they are in utero.
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 01:06 AM
no one forced you to buy a house, no one forced you to get a mortgage. No one forced you to get a car. All these comparisons are choices you made. If you choose to buy a house you may also choose to buy coverage. If you choose to buy a car, you also choose to participate in licensing. If you participate in licensing, it is required to get insurance. Understand what choice is? Now I mandate you to buy broccoli you don't have a choice or I will punish you.
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 01:22 AM
Seeing that the mandate was passed as a tax, now the government can apply that law to anything it deems *the public needs* and bypasses state laws. Now in the future the government may feel it necessary that all americans are protected when their loved ones die. Now I mandate you to buy life insurance, you have no choice or I will punish you.
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 01:28 AM
Seeing that home security is in the interest of the citizens, using the tax mandate the government might deem it necessary that all Americans participate in helping homeland security. Now I mandate you to buy a RFID implant or I will punish you and you will have no access to banks, airports, and government buildings. and we will track you *for your own good*
Berkeley Lifer July 04, 2012 at 01:34 AM
Your screen name indicates that you if fact did a bid,perhaps in state prison?You must think that Obama care is free?Oh that's right when you were locked up you had free health care lol.Ok it's time you get back in the closet...
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 01:34 AM
seeing that the internet has been a strain on retail markets and you all use the WWW for free (not the equipment or cable), now I mandate you to pay tax on it, I mandate that everyone is watched (for homeland security) and I mandate that inter state commerce laws do not apply so you will pay taxes or I will punish you. (which congress is trying to formulate and pass).
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 01:38 AM
the right to free choice, the rest I already mentioned and posted link to the subject, including this one. http://www.nypost.com/p/news/opinion/opedcolumnists/obamacare_now_bigger_mess_ZQXHK0gILBo
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 01:45 AM
The point being Bob, all the things I posted are facts bills passed NDAA, RFID in the ACA, the mandate, the bill for drones. Now why don't you counter those facts instead of your labeling people.
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 01:52 AM
http://techblog.dallasnews.com/archives/2011/05/obama-administration-floats-pl.html http://www.wsws.org/articles/2012/jun2012/dron-j18.shtml http://www.infowars.com/bill-clears-path-for-30000-surveillance-drones-over-us-in-next-ten-years/ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universal_health_care http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2012/feb/7/coming-to-a-sky-near-you/ http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2156720/Eye-sky-U-S-government-use-drones-size-GOLF-BALLS-spy-citizens.html http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7uO8WWZ_9KA&feature=related http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCYoLmvtHLo&feature=related
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 01:53 AM
your turn Bob, with links and your opinion
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 01:58 AM
these I posted too http://news.investors.com/article/616549/201206281902/supreme-court-confirms-obamacare-massive-tax-burden.htm?p=full http://news.investors.com/article/616549/201206281902/supreme-court-confirms-obamacare-massive-tax-burden.htm?p=full.
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 02:05 AM
http://articles.latimes.com/2012/apr/18/local/la-me-gs-activists-sue-obama-over-new-terror-laws-20120417
Joe R July 04, 2012 at 02:13 AM
I sincerely hope that Mark M is getting paid to flood the comments section with all his "gems," cough, cough.
Paul J. DiBartolo July 04, 2012 at 02:22 AM
Welcome to the ward, Donna. Like you, I came looking for an interchange of ideas and specifically looking for those who disagree with me to show me via convincing argumentation why I am wrong and should change my mind. Unfortunately...it ain't happenin' here.
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 02:26 AM
Just posting trivial little parts that our government deems unimportant to know..:) Here is reference to NDAA also mentions the international reaction of the USA violating international law, "the most radical analysts are comparing the new law to the edicts of the 'Third Reich' or 'Muslim tyrannies.' http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Defense_Authorization_Act_for_Fiscal_Year_2012
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 02:29 AM
Hey Joe want to pay me? :)) I am probably too expensive for your budget :)
Haddie July 04, 2012 at 02:35 AM
If anyone really cared about healthcare, we would focus on the bad diet habits and lack of physical activities of our citizens. We need to get people off the couch and exercising without eating at McDonalds on the way. The number #1 problem is poort heart health caused by poor diets. Some want to ban the Big Gulp when we should be banning food stamps for use at McDonalds.
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 02:37 AM
Right, so lets mandate that all citizens must exercise or get fined, and let special interest raise premiums on us at will with inflation.
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 02:40 AM
Better yet, lets mandate that all citizens must buy health foods only at double the price of supermarkets or we fine them! Im all for it.
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 02:53 AM
Some relief... supreme court rules detaining americans indefinitely is unconstitutional, Obama camp is not pleased... http://rt.com/usa/news/ndaa-judge-obama-forrest-295/
Bob English July 04, 2012 at 03:00 AM
Q: Guess who said the "the mandate/personal responsibility principal is esential for getting individual health care costs down and getting everybody the health insurance they deserve and need"????? http://video.nytimes.com/video/2012/06/28/multimedia/100000001633697/mitt-romney-in-2006.html
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 03:32 AM
there is no difference between Romney and Obama, this bait & switch scheme is probably devised by both parties. But the repercussions to both is not good. My opinion is Ron Paul is the best candidate. http://www.ronpaul2012.com/the-issues/health-care/
Mark M July 04, 2012 at 03:45 AM
He is the only congressman who has never changed his position in 30 years, always defend our rights, is anti war, anti special interest, never voted tax hikes, never let Washington change him, and is a doctor. The Republicans are afraid because he has a large following of youth and all the vets, and represents what the Republican Party should really be like without the anecdotes of religion, and he is a true christian, but choice and our rights are more important. Very dangerous man to both parties and the media has also blacked him out. A true progressive Lincoln Republican.
Rufus O'Callahan July 04, 2012 at 05:38 AM
Oh, man. I wish people in this country were smart enough to send Ron Paul to the White House. There's just the person we need to get this country back on track and get Washington to work for us, instead of the other way around. If this were a level playing field and voters were making more informed choices, there's no doubt in my mind that he would be facing Obama in November. Unfortunately, it looks like that flip-flopping phony Romney will be the candidate, which probably means four more years of the Anointed One. What a shame.
Deborah Stevens July 09, 2012 at 03:05 PM
Social Security = Federal tax, Medicare = Federal tax, so lets get rid of those taxes. Almost all of the people on these programs are telling the government to get out of their pocket, but mention to the same people about getting rid of Social Securtiy or Medicare, they raise a holy stink...It's people being misinformed and watching too much of the talking heads on TV. People need to read these bills and learn and form your own opinion and not someone else feeding you a bunch of BS from the boobtube. We also mandate everyone carry Auto insurance..when you get caught without it you pay a fine...tax or whatever you want to call it, it is a mandated insurance. I love the fact my children can stay on their dads health insurance until they are 26, since one of my son's has had a chronic illness, which has no cure, since he was 15, and the treatments are very expensive.
Chris B October 22, 2012 at 10:45 PM
I am totally impressed by this argument...well most of it. There are obviously many well-informed people on both sides. There are also a few who rely on feelings and guesses rather than facts to form their opinion. Please keep one thing in mind. No matter who wins the election, Obamacare will not be repealed. Governor Romney has already indicated that he will keep most of the provisions. He also indicated that people with pre-existing conditions won't be turned down for insurance under his plan. The only way to insure this is with an individual mandate. Otherwise people will wait until they get sick and then purchase insurance. My Romney knows this.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »