Freehold Township BOE Recognizes Teachers and Student Achievements

The Clifton T. Barkalow Middle School was filled with proud parents, students and teachers at the Dec. 13 Freehold Township Board of Education Meeting.

Students and teachers from the Freehold Township school district were recognized in front of the Board of Education for their accomplishments last night. The gymnasium was the host of the Freehold Township Board of Education meeting where extracurricular accomplishments and each school’s Teacher of the Year were announced.

The sport teams recognized at the Dec. 13 meeting were the boy’s cross country team from , the girl’s cross country team from Barkalow, and the Boy’s Soccer team from Barkalow. In addition to sport team accomplishments, art students from Bakalow School whose work was selected for display at the 2011 Appellate Division Cultural Diversity Celebration were also recognized last night.

Teachers also had the spotlight at last night’s Board of Education meeting where one teacher from each school was awarded “Teacher of the Year”. 

“Teacher of the Year” is awarded to one teacher at each school in the district. In order to receive the award, teachers had to fit a specific criteria such as having the proper certificates, use innovation instructional strategies, increase student achievement, utilize educational technology and develop feelings of self worth.   Each teacher is then voted on by administration, other teachers and parents.  The teacher who receives the most votes is then named “Teacher of the Year.”

“One of the most enjoyable parts of my job is to inform a teacher that he or she has been recognized as the 'Teacher of the Year' for a school. Their reactions are often priceless,” Superintendent Ross Kasun said. 

The teachers that were named "Teacher of the Year" last night were Nancy Doran from the Clifton T. Barkalow School, Christine Feldman from the Dwight D. Eisenhower School, Cheryl Drinkuth from the C. Richard , Lisa Glusko from the School, Tina Belka from the , Lisa O’Connor from , Cathleen Rosen from School and Jeanne Fazio from the . In addition to the title of “Teacher of the Year,” each teacher received a plaque and a rose for their accomplishment.

The next Board of Education Meeting will be held on January 10, 2012 in the Board of Education building.   


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »